The Pulse Of KMC

So I guess green’s the new trend huh… nope, not in the fashion world,but in our social,political arenas, everywhere I  see people telling us to GO GREEN…it’s the new mantra. But to tell you the truth I believe most of them are hollow,fake, total bullshit.It’s just that they are taking the popular side,I mean if you listen closely you can feel their isn’t even nanograms of sincerity in what they’re preaching.And their actions amount to nothing,but hey don’t think of me as a pessimist,no I’m what  some may call ‘a guarded optimist’. Ok let’s leave other realms and zero in on our college. What exactly happens here,come june 5th or any imp day like that and suddenly everyone goes into ‘tree planting’ mode,it’s all about nature and ambitious plans are drawn up,but after that they conveniently forget everything(even where they planted them)!!!. And all my beliefs were reaffirmed when our college authorities decided to cut down trees in various parts of campus,oh actually they gave an explanation that they were just ‘trimming’ trees that were posing a danger or were damaged.What’s the big deal in that you might be thinking,well I didn’t knew what criteria they chose but within days,all what was left were stumps even in the place of healthy trees. Alas I don’t have any earlier photos but I’ve shown how they look like now,all those sprawling trees reduced to nothing but a trunk,like a headless torso.And these came from people who spoke volumes about nature and greenery couple months back.I was greatly disappointed not only with the administration but also with the students.Barring a few voices from pg association and a complaint by student’s union,no one even seemed to care about what was going on,or maybe no-one knew.I’m not good at advising or lecturing and I don’t intend to do so.I’m not an environmentalist but I do care about our college.See I don’t think our college has a picturesque campus and cutting down those trees only adds to it’s woes. So maybe a few years later we can all remember our college as an arid patch of land,oh that will be very nostalgic..

So there I was feeling totally let down when I came across a banner of CLEAN ‘N’ GREEN(campus initiative for cleanliness and beauty,Medical College Kottayam.Dr Abdul Khader is the president and Dr.P.U Thomas is the convenor.).This venture is certainly appreciable and with so many faculty members backing it this could go a long way in realising it’s objectives.There was hope again,but as experience has taught me I don’t think this will be the answer to every aesthetic problem’s campus is facing,at least it’s a start.Also reassuring was the fact that some palms and mankostein were planted near podipara block,instead of those cut down.Also a new waste collection centre building has come up,so now all those won’t be lying out there in the open.So there has been some positive measures,what’s important is to follow up on them.That’s where the role of students is important.I haven’t had a chance to speak with the coordinators of clean n green,but I think it would be good to have a student representative in the committee.I will discuss with official channels and get back on that.But more importantly,we need ideas and proposals from everyone of you to make our campus beautiful.This post was just meant to highlight the issues we had to deal with.Dear friends,I hope it will encourage all of you to voice your concerns and opinions,please share your suggestions with me……

Leave a comment